What are the penalties for a DUI charge in Kentucky?

On Behalf of | Jun 7, 2024 | Criminal Defense |

In Kentucky, it is illegal to drive a motor vehicle under the influence of substances that may impair your driving skills. This driving habit can be dangerous, and those found guilty of a drunk driving charge will face sanctions.

The penalties for driving while impaired and drunk driving vary depending on whether you have had any prior offenses. First-time offenders face lighter sentences, while repeat offenders receive harsher punishments.

The legal repercussions of drunk driving

If a court finds that you violated drunk driving laws in the state, you may have to pay fines, face jail time and revoke your driving privileges.

Convicted drunk and impaired drivers will also have to complete an alcohol or substance abuse program.

License suspension lasts six months for first offenders, 18 months for second offenders and 36 months for third offenders. If it is your fourth conviction within ten years, a judge may suspend your license for 60 months. If aggravating circumstances are present, a court may intensify punishments.

Examples of these circumstances include going over the speed limit and refusing to undergo a test for your blood alcohol content (BAC). Causing a motor vehicle accident that leads to injury or death can also intensify sanctions.

If you want to shorten the time of your license suspension, you may join the Kentucky Ignition Interlock Program (KIIP). Under this arrangement, you permit the installation of a device that measures your BAC before you can drive.

Defending against a DUI charge

If you are facing a DUI charge, you may need the help of experienced attorneys to help defend your case. With the help of a defense lawyer, you may challenge the results of a field sobriety test or a breathalyzer test. Moreover, an attorney may help initiate negotiations so you may receive a lighter sentence.